Globe iconLogin iconRecap iconSearch iconTickets icon

Spikes alum Kelly named MiLB Gold Glove catcher

2013 Spikes infielder-turned-backstop earns defensive honors
September 28, 2015

State College Spikes alum Carson Kelly received the 2015 Rawlings Gold Glove Award® as the best defensive catcher in Minor League Baseball on Monday.

The recipients of the annual awards for defensive excellence were announced by Minor League Baseball and Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. The honorees at each defensive position were selected among qualifying players from the 10 domestic-based, full-season Minor Leagues. Each player will receive his own Rawlings Gold Glove Award, modeled after the iconic award given to Major League Baseball's top defensive players, during the 2016 season.

Kelly, who was a third baseman during his time in State College, shone in just his second year playing behind the plate. The 21-year old Portland, Oregon native posted a .996 fielding percentage in 104 games catching for Advanced-A Palm Beach. Kelly threw out 36 percent of base stealers (31 of 55) and allowed only six passed balls in 920.1 innings. The 2012 second-round draft choice of the Cardinals committed just three errors all season, all on errant throws.

Check out Carson Kelly's Minor League Baseball profile here!

"Congratulations to the nine outstanding Minor League Baseball players who deservedly won the 2015 Rawlings Gold Glove Award," said Mike Thompson, executive vice president and general manager of baseball for St. Louis-based Rawlings. "Minor League Baseball is and will always continue to be a great partner of Rawlings, and we knew the Rawlings Gold Glove Award would be a popular goal for many young players when we decided to rekindle this award platform in 2011." 

"Each year, it is a privilege to recognize the top defensive players in Minor League Baseball and honor them with a Rawlings Gold Glove Award®," said Pat O'Conner, President & CEO of Minor League Baseball. "All nine of these players displayed extraordinary skills at their positions this season, and on behalf of Minor League Baseball, I congratulate them on this outstanding accomplishment." 

For the complete list of 2015 Minor League Baseball Rawlings Gold Glove Award® award winners, click here.